The Masai Mara is the large land area found southern west part of Kenya in narok country bounded by the Serengeti Park to the south. Simply the Masai Mara called MARA whereby the word comes from Masai language “MAA” which means spotted due to that large area dotted with trees.

The park was established in 1961 with 520 km2 as wildlife area and the same year it was extended from 520 km2 to 1821 km2 and appointed as a game reserve. In 1974, Masai mara was given a status of National Game Reserve by Narok Country Council (NCC) and area of 159 km2 returned to the local Maasai Community, up to 1976 area of 321 km2 was already removed from National Game Reserve and the park officially become 1510 km2

All big five (lion, leopard, elephant, cape buffalo, and rhinoceros) are found at Masai Mara. Hippopotami, cheetahs, jackals, Hyenas, bat-eared foxes and crocodiles are found in large groups. In July to October more than 1,300,000 wildebeest, 97,000 topi, 200,000 zebra, and 500,000 Thomson’s gazelle migrate from Serengeti National Park to the south and Loita Plains into and occupy the Masai Mara game reserve. Grant’s gazelles, impalas, duikers, Coke’s, hartebeests, Masai Giraffe, and More than 470 species of birds are found

Search Tour

Find your dream tour today!
Need Help? Chat with us!
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our members below to chat on WhatsApp